1. Back to homepage
  2. / Sport

This year’s Marc Vivien-Foé Prize for the champion African Ligue 1 subordinate of the play was awarded to Olympique de Marseille’s Congolese defender Chancel Mbemba. Presented by FRANCE 24 and Radio France Internationale, the grant is simply a peculiarly large accolade for Mbemba arsenic this is the archetypal clip it has been fixed to a defender.

Issued on: 30/05/2023 - 07:30

1 min

Olympique de Marseille's Congolese defender Chancel Mbemba is the victor  of the 2023 Marc-Vivien Foé Prize. Olympique de Marseille's Congolese defender Chancel Mbemba is the victor of the 2023 Marc-Vivien Foé Prize. © France Médias Monde Infographics

The 28-year-old Mbemba has go a important antiaircraft linchpin astatine Marseille aft spells astatine Anderlecht, Newcastle and Porto – adjacent scoring 7 goals successful 43 appearances aft coming into his ain astatine the confederate French club.

He is the 2nd Marseille subordinate to triumph the grant aft André Ayew successful 2015 and the 2nd Congolese subordinate to instrumentality the prize aft Gaël Kakuta successful 2021.

Mbemba triumphed implicit 2 different formidable finalists – past year’s victor of the prize, RC Lens’s Ivorian midfielder Seko Fofana, and Nigerian striker Terem Moffi of OGC Nice.

A radical of astir 100 journalists specialising successful French and African shot chose the victor from a shortlist of 12 players drawn up by the athletics departments of FRANCE 24 and RFI.

This yearly grant for the champion African subordinate successful Ligue 1 has been named aft Marc-Vivien Foé since 2011, successful tribute to the Cameroonian subordinate who died abruptly portion playing for his state successful a lucifer against Colombia astatine the Stade de Gerland successful Lyon connected June 26, 2003. Players who person been capped for an African nationalist squad and played successful astatine slightest 15 Ligue 1 matches implicit the past play are eligible for the prize.

Past winners:

2022: Seko Fofana (Ivory Coast)  

2021: Gaël Kakuta (DR Congo)

2020 : Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)

2019 : Nicolas Pépé (Ivory Coast)

2018: Karl Toko-Ekambi (Cameroon)

2017: Jean Michaël Seri (Ivory Coast)

2016: Sofiane Boufal (Morocco)

2015 : André Ayew (Ghana)

2014: Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria)

2013: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)

2012 : Younès Belhanda (Morocco)

2011 : Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

2010: Gervinho (Ivory Coast)

2009: Marouane Chamakh (Morocco)

Read much connected related topics: